Uneasy Dreams

Composer : GOSS, Stephen

DO 1054
ISBN : 978-2-89503-829-0 
Chamber music
16 p. + separated parts

Select a format to show its price :

Three formats are available for your purchases.

Book: The paper version of our editions, which will be shipped through the mail from the nearest distribution center.

PDF: The digital and downloadable version, which is in PDF file format. These files are encoded with a header bearing your name, and opening them requires a password.

PDF Extra: This version allows you to print as many copies as you need for your musical ensembles. Also requires a password to open.



for saxophone quartet

1. Tideland

2. A Blues for Sam Lowry

3. The Fisher King

Uneasy Dreams is based on fantasy sequences from films directed by Terry Gilliam. 

The opening section, Tideland, conjures up eleven-year-old Jeliza-Rose’s elaborate flights of fancy. The piece begins in murky twilight, the air punctuated by swarms of fireflies; the texture gradually transforms to evoke an underwater dream world.  Sam Lowry, the anti-hero of Brazil, is an ordinary man trapped in a totalitarian dystopia but resigned to his fate. Gilliam’s film The Fisher King retells the Parsifal story in modern-day New York. The music for this final section is a distorted and half-remembered chorale that draws on a chord sequence from Wagner’s Parsifal

All three sections of Uneasy Dreams run without a break; the piece lasts 8 minutes. The title is borrowed from the first sentence of Kafka’s Metamorphosis:

“As Gregor Samsa awoke one morning from uneasy dreams he found himself transformed in his bed into a gigantic insect.”

© Stephen Goss