Sonata Capriccioso

Composer : GOSS, Stephen

DO 1003
ISBN : 978-2-89503-778-1 
Solo Guitar
16 p.

Select a format to show its price :

Three formats are available for your purchases.

Book: The paper version of our editions, which will be shipped through the mail from the nearest distribution center.

PDF: The digital and downloadable version, which is in PDF file format. These files are encoded with a header bearing your name, and opening them requires a password.

PDF Extra: This version allows you to print as many copies as you need for your musical ensembles. Also requires a password to open.



I – Allegro scherzando

II – Idyll

III – Moto perpetuo

Sonata Capriccioso is cast in three short movements. The skittish Allegro scherzando jumps between contrasting playful musical ideas, never settling in any one place for long. The opening groove-based material is frequently interrupted by more dreamy and impressionistic music. Idyll is the sentimental core of the sonata, an oasis of repose and reflection. It evokes an Arcadian landscape, coloured with elements from Thai folk music. The finale, Moto perpetuo, is a virtuosic tour de force: a roller-coaster ride for the soloist that navigates frequent shifts in metre.

Sonata Capriccioso was commissioned by Ekachai Jearakul with funds provided by ThaiBev. The first performance took place at Carnegie Hall, New York, on 6th November 2015.