River Winds

Composer : GOSS, Stephen

DO 983
ISBN : 978-2-89503-758-3 
20 p. + separated part

Select a format to show its price :

Three formats are available for your purchases.

Book: The paper version of our editions, which will be shipped through the mail from the nearest distribution center.

PDF: The digital and downloadable version, which is in PDF file format. These files are encoded with a header bearing your name, and opening them requires a password.

PDF Extra: This version allows you to print as many copies as you need for your musical ensembles. Also requires a password to open.



for violin and piano

1. Invocation – Arab Spring (for solo violin)

2. Scherzo

3. Pine Winds (Matsu Kaze)


Programme Note

River Winds was commissioned by my friend Henry Sanger as a surprise birthday present for his wife Joyce Berman. The piece reflects Joyce’s passion for the Middle East, 20th century music (particularly Prokofiev, Stravinsky, and Shostakovich), and the scenery that surrounds their home, Matsu Kaze, in the Rocky Mountains. 

The first movement, for violin alone, is a meditation that grows out of the Islamic call to prayer. The Scherzo resonates with the music of Prokofiev, and the finale evokes a serene and muted landscape of mountain pine forests under heavy snow. 


Performance notes

The three movements of River Winds can be performed together, separately, or in any pairing of two of the movements. 

Extended beams are used to show how long notes are held.

Accidentals apply for the duration of the measure (or between dashed measure lines). 

Some courtesy accidentals have been supplied for the sake of clarity.